Former-Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher has revealed that he believes Chelsea striker Diego Costa was “very, very lucky” not to be shown a red card against Arsenal on Saturday.
The Spanish international striker clashed with Arsenal centre-back Laurent Koscielny and appeared to strike the Frenchman in the face with a flailing arm, before clashing with Gunners Gabriel, who was then dismissed for a kick-out at the former-Atletico Madrid star.
Asked about the incident Gallagher told Sky Sports: “I thought Costa was very, very lucky to stay on the field because of what happened with Koscielny,”
“He put his hands out, he knows what he’s doing and what we have to assume is that the referee hasn’t seen that.
“I think if the referee sees that then he gives a red card but I don’t think he did see it because he didn’t take action, the action was taken for him bumping into Koscielny, which happened later. What happens then is that it spirals and Gabriel gets involved, Koscielny stays out of it.
“A referee with the quality and experience of Mike Dean would have sent him off there if he had seen it.”
The FA are due to look at the match report later today and decide if Diego Costa’s actions deserve retrospective action, with a fine and a ban likely if the Spaniard is found guilty of any wrong-doing.
Should Diego Costa be punished for his actions against Arsenal?